January 11, 2004 Q & A

12 Articles of Faith


What are the twelve articles of the faith?


The "12 articles of the faith" is another name, not usual in English usage, for the Apostles' Creed.

If you would like to see how the Creed is divided into 12 articles, your easiest access would probably be in Philip Schaff, The Creeds of Christendom, volume 2 (The Greek and Latin Creeds, with Translations), pages 52-55.

The Apostles' Creed

  1. I believe in God the Father, Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth:
  2. And in Jesus Christ, his only begotten Son, our Lord:
  3. Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the Virgin Mary:
  4. Suffered under Pontius Pilate; was crucified, dead and buried: He descended into hell:
  5. The third day he rose again from the dead:
  6. He ascended into heaven, and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty:
  7. From thence he shall come to judge the quick and the dead:
  8. I believe in the Holy Ghost:
  9. I believe in the holy catholic church: the communion of saints:
  10. The forgiveness of sins:
  11. The resurrection of the body:
  12. And the life everlasting. Amen.



+1 215 830 0900

Contact Form

Find a Church